All the varieties of Pecorino cheese: how many do you know?

The different varieties of pecorino present in the Italian regions

Italy presents many gastronomic excellences that are known all over the world for the quality and the particularity of their production. One of these is pecorino cheese that has different varieties depending on the region of origin. Italian Traditions will guide you on the discovery of this typical Italian product. Here we will explain its main characteristics and how it is produced. Finally we will examine in detail the different types of production in different areas of Italy.

Pecorino: what is it?


Pecorino is a particular type of cheese that is produced using sheep’s milk. It is a production typical of the Mediterranean area but has also spread elsewhere. Today this product occupies a strategic position in the dairy sector thanks to the level of quality achieved by its production. Similar production techniques are used for the various types even if there are slight variations. These make it possible to classify different types of pecorino depending on the region of origin. In fact, other ingredients are added.

The main characteristics of pecorino

Pecorino is a hard cheese. It is a product that is partially skimmed, seasoned and salted. One of the main features concerns the fact that it contains a greater number of lipids compared to other types. This is because it is made with sheep’s milk. Another characteristic is the typical shape of pecorino. In fact this is round and generally small in size.

The production of this cheese

In Italy, different types of pecorino are produced. In fact, there are many Italian regions where this cheese is made. In particular, these are the centre, south and islands. In fact, in the northern regions, the consumption of cow’s milk is more common. Another important thing is that there are two types of denomination that are produced in various regions. These are:

  • Roman pecorino cheese
  • Tuscan pecorino.

The main regional types


The classification of the various types of pecorino takes place according to maturation and salting.

In fact, the European Community recognizes eight denominations of protected origin that are registered under the name of pecorino. These are distinguished according to their production area, and are:

  • Roman
  • Tuscan
  • Sardinian
  • Filiano
  • Crotonese
  • Picinisco
  • Sicilian
  • Of the Balze Volterrane.

Among all these the best known are certainly the first three. The first despite its name is produced also in Lazio, Tuscany and in Sardinia. It differs from the others for its maturation times. These last for 150 to 180 days.


The Tuscan pecorino is also produced in other regions. This is the type with the most delicate taste. The Sardinian one is produced on the island following a strict process. It differs from the others for a phase of its production. In fact it is pressed to filter the whey.

Italy is famous all over the world for its food excellences. These are typical products of certain Italian regions that are now exported everywhere. These possess particular properties that distinguish them. If you want to discover other regional products we advise you to read this article too. Now that you know more about pecorino cheese you just have to taste it.

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Your custom text © Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.