Острова Пелаги, очаровательные жемчужины Средиземноморья

The Pelagie Islands are the Italian archipelago located in the southernmost part of the country, between the coasts of Italy and Tunisia. There are four different islands: Lampedusa, Linosa, Lampione and Rabbit Island. In addition, Sacramento Rock is part of the Pelagie Islands.

This area has always fascinated tourists from all over the world who are enchanted by the clear waters and white beaches. Here you can discover where it is located and what this wonderful archipelago consists of, located in the most isolated area of Italy. You can also learn about the history of the Pelagie Islands and get to know the different islands that make up the archipelago.


What are they and where are they located?

The Pelagie Islands are an archipelago in Sicily, an island characterized by incredible natural beauty , which comes back in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea halfway between the Italian and Tunisian coasts. For this reason, the main island, Lampedusa, is known for the landing of migrants from the African coast. 

In 2002 the Ministry of the Environment established a protected marine area in the waters of the archipelago. Here you can admire the incredible wildlife of this area located in the southernmost part of Italy.


But that’s not all. in fact, you must know that geographically Lampedusa and Limosa belong to the African continent. To reach the archipelago of the Pelagie Islands you need to take a boat or hydrofoil from Porto Empedocle in the province of Palermo.

The history of the Pelagie Islands

But that’s not all, in fact you have to know that the name of this archipelago comes from the Greek and means offshore islands. There are many testimonies that lead to think that in the past they were colonized by Romans, Arabs and Phoenicians.

In fact these people used the islands of this area to take refuge. You should know that these places remained uninhabited for centuries. From 1430 to 1872 these territories saw the succession of various dynasties until the final annexation to the Kingdom of Italy. During the Second World War many barracks and forts were erected here.


In the following years the two main islands became one of the most popular tourist destinations in Italy. In fact every year visitors from all over the world come here fascinated by the beauty of these territories.

Pelagie Islands: Lampedusa, Linosa and Lampione

You should know that there are only two inhabited islands in the archipelago. It is precisely Lampedusa and Linosa. The first is the main island of the archipelago and is also the most famous. It has an extension of 20 kilometers and its territory is predominantly rocky. Moreover, the conformation of its beaches differs in the north and in the south.

Here in fact the beaches are wide and sandy while in the upper are characterized by the presence of cliffs overlooking the sea. The island of Linosa is much more wild and is characterized by the presence of dense vegetation. Its beaches have a darker sand such as that of Cala Pozzolana di Ponte. But that’s not all, in fact you must know that on this island there are also many caves to visit. Moreover, the past volcanic activity is still clearly visible today, as witnessed by the presence of the extinct craters of the volcano.


Lampione Island is uninhabited and is 200 meters long and 180 meters wide. It can only be reached by sea by private boats. The only sign of human presence is an automatic lighthouse from which the island takes its name. The seabed rich in marine animals is the most fascinating aspect of this small island. You should know that here you can bathe surrounded by gray sharks a species harmless to the man who is endangered. Finally there is also the Rabbit Island which is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Here is a WWF nature reserve of sea turtles.

Copertina: aviontourism

Write a response

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Your custom text © Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.